The ZenBook S Flip UX371 is a high-end 2-in-1 convertible that ASUS will be retailing in late 2020, and its first ultrabook certified for the Intel Evo platform.

Only the highest quality laptops built on Intel’s Tiger Lake hardware receive the Evo badge, which indicates that the products have certain features and functions that place them above most other non-Evo laptops in terms of feel and performance in everyday use. We are not going to go into too much detail here, because we will return to the Evo platform in a separate article.

Overall, however, the ZenBook S Flip UX371EA has much in common with the ZenBook Flip UX363RA mid-range ZenBook that we have already tested, such as B. common design language, inputs, I/O and hardware, but it slightly increases material selection and build quality, as well as display options, where it includes a 4K OLED touch screen with 100% DC-P3 color coverage at higher configurations.

Below we list all the important details you need to know before jumping on one of these ZenBook S Flip UX371 with its solid specifications and eccentric features.

Recall Specifications – ZenBook Flip S Evo UX371EA

  Asus ZenBook Flip S Evo UX371EA
Screen 13.3 inch, 3840 x 2160 pixels, 16:9 aspect ratio, OLED, glossy, touch screen, Samsung SDC4147 panel
Processor Intel Tiger Lake, up to Core i7-1165G7, 4C/8T
Video Intel Iris Xe Graphics
Memory 16 GB LPDDR4x 4266MHz (soldered, dual channel)
Storage 1x M.2 PCIe x4 SSD (1 TB WDC PC SN730 SDBPNTY-1T00)
Link Wireless 6 (Intel AX201), Bluetooth 5.0, Ethernet with adapter
Ports 1x USB-A 3.2 gen1, 2x USB-C 3.2 with Thunderbolt 4 (data, video and power supply), HDMI, microSD card reader, 3.5 mm plug with USB-C adapter.
Battery USB-C Charger 67W, 65W with fast charging
Size 305 mm or 12.01 inches (W) x 211 mm or 8.31 inches (D) x 13.9 mm or 0.55 inches (H)
Weight of the charger weighing 1,22 kg + 21 kg, American version.
Besides.., White backlit keyboard, compact, glass NumberPad, HD + IR webcam with hello, stereo speakers at the bottom.

Asus offers ZenBook Flip 13 UX371EA in two configurations, with different amounts of RAM and storage, either on Intel i5-1135G7 or Intel i7-1165G7 hardware platforms, and IPS or OLED panels, both with touch screen.

However, the different options have a number of similarities, so the core of this article applies to all configurations that may be of interest to you.

Design and construction

Externally, the ZenBook Flip S UX371 is very similar to our tested standard ZenBook Flip UX363. In fact, the UX371 is only slightly lighter and a few millimetres smaller, but at a level where these differences are hardly noticeable, even when placed side by side.

Asus offers a slightly different colour scheme on the Flip S, which comes in a darker blue-grey (officially called Jade Black) with some pink gold accents on the edges and in the ASUS logo on the cover. Because of this dark color, stains are clearly visible, especially on the cover (the last picture above shows the laptop after a few days of use, so you know what to expect).

Moreover, this ZenBook Flip S is a convertible with a 360 degree display. This means that it can be used as a tablet, although it is quite large and wobbly, so I would expect it to spend most of his life in portable mode. In this case, the main frame is lifted on small feet next to the hinges, with what Asus calls an Ergolift design, and is applied in various forms to all his ZenBooks. This aspect ensures better air circulation underneath the laptop and tilts slightly forward, but as with a classic flip, the design leaves something to be desired here because the rubber feet at the bottom are small and the laptop ultimately rests on sharper hinges, which in some cases can scratch delicate surfaces.

Moreover, the laptop with its small back legs is not very stable on a flat surface. And if we get bored here, we should also mention the rather sharp edges and corners around the main chassis, which look great but are not the most comfortable for the wrists, and the thick chin under the screen, which looks quite old on a late 2020 convertible. However, it serves both as a handle for the device in tablet mode and as protection against the screen warming up in portable mode, as you will see in the next chapter.

Talk about thermal design: It has been re-implemented in a similar way to the ZenBook Flip UX363 standard. The bottom grilles are actually closed from the inside, so that the air enters the cooling system via a small inlet between the hinges and is pushed into the display via a similar recess directly next to it. The chin is a little affected by heat, but in general it is not a good thermal design in this class.

On the sunny side, this ZenBook Flip S is solidly built, with a solid screen and an almost flex-free keyboard. The two foldable hinges ensure a good adjustment of the display and are at the same time so soft that you can adjust the display with one hand. I also appreciate the spacious armrest and the clickpad, which usually don’t fall on a compact 13-inch like this, but there’s a catch: Asus had to make do with a messy keyboard, which we’ll talk about later.

The inputs and outputs are side-aligned and are standard for the 2020 generation ZenBooks: two USB-C ports with Thunderbolt 4 support, a full-size HDMI slot, a full-size USB-A slot, a microSD card reader and some status LEDs on the left edge. There is no 3.5 mm plug, but Asus offers a USB-C to 3.5 mm adapter in the package, as well as a USB-A to LAN adapter and a screen protector.

In short, the ZenBook Flips S UX371 looks stylish and will probably make a good first impression.

However, I have a feeling that once you start using it, you will notice some of its peculiarities. My breasts with the unstable rubber feet at the back and the sharp hinges that can scratch your desk, the rather aggressive edges around the main frame, and even the dark dirt-repellent surfaces that need to be rubbed often. After a few weeks of use, I can’t help feeling that it’s more of a display product that looks good behind closed glass, but it’s not as practical as I’d like my computer to be used on a daily basis.

Keyboard and touchpad

Asus uses a keyboard layout for this 13-inch laptop which is also used in the ZenBook 13 and ZenBook Flip.

This means that the main set of keys is 16 x 13 mm and the presentation is slightly smaller. This is why smaller keys affect accuracy. It is especially important that people with large hands (or perhaps long fingernails) are aware of this.

http://server.digimetriq.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/ASUS-ZenBook-Flip-S-Evo-UX371-review-2020-UX371EA-model.jpg

If you are satisfied with this aspect, you will probably like this keyboard. We’re talking about the average performance you’d expect from an Ultrabook in terms of feedback and type feeling, but it’s definitely a step back from what Asus offers in its 14-inch Ultrabooks these days.

In addition to layout and feedback, this backlit keyboard features bright white LEDs and a special Caps-Lock indicator. The lighting system is quite bright and even, but a lot of light comes out under the hoods, which you will notice in daily use. Again, this is less of a problem with the 14-inch keyboard model.

At the bottom, in the middle of the chassis, Asus uses the same spacious glass control panel with precision drivers and a secondary NumberPad function found in most ZenBooks 2020. It is smooth, reliable and durable, with a solid gesture support and wrist support. I also like it that the surface is firm and does not shake in a collision, and the physical clicks in the corners are nice, just a little stiffer than I would have liked. All in all, it is one of the best clickpads on the market today, so there is no reason to complain here.

However, no ScreenPad is offered for this series. As far as biometrics are concerned, there is no finger sensor, but there is an IR camera at the top of the screen.

Screen

The ZenBook Flip S UX371 is a convertible with a 13.3-inch touchscreen available in FHD IPS with 100% sRGB coverage and 450 nits brightness or in 4K OLED with 100% DCI-P3 coverage and over 500 nits brightness. Both options also include a handle.

The last panel is what we have here and what you’ll probably get in most areas, but it’s a pretty expensive addition that pushes this ZenBook into the top price range.

At first glance, however, this OLED panel is amazing, with excellent brightness, contrast, viewing angles and colours.

This is what we got in our tests with the X-Rite i1 Display Pro matrix:

  • Panel HardwareID : Samsung SDC4147 ;
  • Coverage: 100.0% sRGB, 98.2% AdobeRGB, 99.3% DCI-P3 ;
  • Measured range: 2.17 ;
  • Maximum luminance in the center of the screen: 519.09 cd/m2 per power supply;
  • Minimum brightness in the center of the screen: 24.68 cd/m2 at power ;
  • Contrast at maximum brightness : 1:1 ;
  • White dot: 6300 K ;
  • Black at maximum brightness: 0,00 cd/m2 ;
  • PWM: Yes, 60 Hz at 70% brightness.

But there are some pitfalls when it comes to OLED screens. First of all, this OLED panel is expensive and with its UHD-resolution it shortens battery life.

Secondly, our tests measured some color imbalances between the quadrants of the screen, with significant DeltaE deviations in some areas. We’re not the only ones mentioning it, Notebook check also measured it in his test, and it’s also something we came across with other OLED panels. This means that despite its excellent color rendering, professionals looking at this panel for color accuracy may not find it good enough because it lacks the necessary consistency across the panel, which can lead to color differences in the corners.

I expect a quality difference between these OLED panels, so if you want to try it anyway, I suggest you buy from a supplier who will allow you to return your device and test it properly once it has arrived, to make sure it meets your needs. Keep it if you have the right sign, or send it back.

Finally, there is a discussion about whether OLED panels are the right thing for a laptop, given problems such as burn-in, image preservation, PWM use, grey stripes or black crumbs.

Windows screens have a lot of static content and burn-in can be a long-term problem, although OLED panels have been improved over the years and manufacturers have implemented technologies to prevent long-term image retention. If you decide to use it, I would be extremely careful not to use it at high light levels, as this could greatly increase potential burnout problems.

Moreover, most of you will not even notice the problems of black flakes (some dark gray elements appear to be black) and gray stripes (some gray images and textures have an unnatural distorting effect) typical of OLED panels, but if you are curious, there are many clips on Youtube about these problems.

Finally, this OLED panel uses 60 Hz PWM modulation at 70% brightness or less, and although the flicker of OLEDs is different from LCDs and does not bother me personally, it may be of interest to those of you who are more sensitive to flicker based on the many user reviews available online when it comes to other OLED laptops.

As you can see, most of these peculiarities apply to all OLED laptops and not specifically to the ZenBook Flip S UX371, but you will have to take them into account and accept them if you choose to have this type of OLED display on your computer. Personally, as someone who likes to keep their screens low in the light anyway (usually around 70 nits) and doesn’t worry about the flickering of the OLED, I think I’ve come to a point where I could try OLED on my next laptop, but that doesn’t mean that OLED is for everyone.

As mentioned before, Asus now offers an IPS display option for this ZenBook UX371, with a 450-bit panel and 100% sRGB color coverage. It will not be as beautiful and rich, but it will be more affordable without all the problems mentioned above. We will update the details as soon as we have tested this panel.

For comparison, here’s what the OLED display looks like compared to the traditional 300-bit IPS display offered in the cheaper ZenBook Flip UX363. The UX371 OLED is visible on the left side and the UX363 IPS on the right side.

Equipment and performance

Our test model is a superior configuration of the Asus ZenBook Flip S UX371EA with an Intel Tiger Lake Core i7-1165G7 processor and Intel Iris Xe graphics, 16GB LPDDR4x 4266MHz memory and a fast 1 TB WDC SN730 SSD.

Before proceeding, please note that our assessment unit is a pre-production template sent by Asus and tested with software available since early November 2020 (BIOS 301, MyAsus app 2.2.45.0).

In particular, it is based on the end of 2020 Intel Tiger Lake i7-1165G7 hardware, as used in many other ultrabooks of this generation. It is a 4C/8T processor, very manoeuvrable for single-core tasks and moderately suitable for multitasking. But OEMs can implement this equipment in different power versions, and Asus got away with it with a limited implementation, with a continuous power output of 15+W at demanding loads in its most aggressive power profile.

The i7-1165G7 receives the most powerful version of the Iris Xe iGPU, with 96 actuators operating at up to 1300 MHz (on paper).

Our configuration also includes 16GB of two-channel LPDDR4x 4266MHz RAM and a powerful WD SN730 PCIe x4 SSD. The notebook’s construction keeps it warm during heavy use, but it has less impact on performance than the mid-range Kingston SSDs tested in the ZenBook UX363. However, you can replace the drive if you remove the rear panel by holding a pair of visible Torx screws.

The CPU and memory are soldered to the motherboard and not upgraded, and inside you will find that most of the space is taken up by the battery, i.e. for a small motherboard transmitted by the SSD very close to the motherboard.

As for the software, it receives the default MyAsus application to manage power profiles, battery and display settings, updates, etc., while the audio is managed in AudioWizard.

There are three power/temperature profiles to choose from:

  • Power – Allows the processor to operate at 13+W under a sustained load, increasing the fans to 38-39dB ;
  • Standard – allows the processor to operate at 12+W under continuous load, with fans up to 35-36dB;
  • Whisper – limited CPU power to 8+W in favor of lower fan noise, up to 30dB.

The standard profile is well balanced and keeps the fan stationary for light and quiet operation under heavy load. The laptop also surprises with its daily multitasking, video streaming, text editing and more, as you’ll see below. Compared to the standard ZenBook Flip UX363, however, the UX371 is quieter and warmer.

To move to more complex tasks, we first test CPU performance by running the Cinebench R15 benchmark 15 or more times per cycle with a 2-3 second delay between runs in Performance mode.

The Tiger Lake i7 operates at high hours for a period of time, but then quickly stabilizes around 15W and ~2.4GHz, at a temperature of 75-77 degrees Celsius. In this test, the fan rises to about 40-41 dB at head height and the laptop delivers about 580 points. It’s not much, but it’s normally the limits of power.

Compared to the other Asus Tiger Lake laptops we have tested so far, this laptop aggressively limits the CPU, which has a positive effect on temperature and a negative effect on performance. Future BIOS updates may change this behavior, but for now this is what we have in BIOS 301 from November 2020.

We also test the laptop again in standard and silent mode. The standard limits CPU power to 12+W with less fan noise, and Whisper Technology reduces this limit to 8+W with even quieter fans. Finally, the notebook operates properly when turned off and runs at ~15W in performance mode. This is what we have in our tests.

http://server.digimetriq.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/ASUS-ZenBook-Flip-S-Evo-UX371-review-2020-UX371EA-model.png

To put these results into perspective, here’s how other AMD and Intel ultra-portable laptops were ranked in the same test.

The very similar ZenBook UX363 is limited to about 13 watts in our sample, but it is slightly louder, just like the 10th laptop. Ice Lake i7 generator in the ZenBook UX425JA. However, Tiger-Lake’s faster implementations far surpass this UX371, not to mention the 6Core Ryzen 4000 platforms, which are still the kings of U-type processors for this kind of work.

http://server.digimetriq.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/1608153975_198_ASUS-ZenBook-Flip-S-Evo-UX371-review-2020-UX371EA-model.png

We carried out longer and more demanding tests on Cinebench R20 and Prime 95. In both cases, after a very short initial overclocking, the CPU stabilizes at about 75-78 degrees at about 15W.

We also performed our combined CPU+GPU stress tests on this laptop with the same performance profile.

3DMark Load performs the same test 20 times per cycle, looking for variations in performance and degradation over time, and this device has actually passed. This doesn’t mean much, but on the contrary shows that the system very quickly limits the power to 13 watts and remains constant within this limit. In comparison, the ZenBook UX363 recorded a better time on the first outing before dropping to 13 watts, making it fail this test. Luxmark 3.1 fully charges the CPU and GPU at the same time, but does not support Tiger Lake properly at the moment, so it is not relevant here.

http://server.digimetriq.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/1608153975_232_ASUS-ZenBook-Flip-S-Evo-UX371-review-2020-UX371EA-model.jpg

http://server.digimetriq.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/1608153976_220_ASUS-ZenBook-Flip-S-Evo-UX371-review-2020-UX371EA-model.png

 

You can also find some reference results here. We performed all tests and benchmarking against the standard performance profile. Here’s what we’ve got.

  • 3DMark 13 – Shooting : 4013 (Graph – 4574, Physics – 9258, combined – 1450) ;
  • 3DMark 13 – Night Raid : 13163 (Graph – 17091, CPU – 5718) ;
  • 3DMark 13 – Time Spy : 1466 (Graph – 1335, CPU – 3307) ;
  • 3DMark 13 – Wild animals : 10621 ;
  • AIDA64 memory test: – ;
  • Uniengine Overlay – Environment 1080p : 2767 ;
  • Motor Overlay – 1080p Extreme : 881 ;
  • Handbrake 1.3.1 (4K coding at 1080p): 18.97 fps on average ;
  • PassMark 10: Assessment: 3805 (CPU identification code: 10748, 3D graphics identification code: 3527, player identification code: 17214) ;
  • PCMark 10 : 4654 (Foundations – 10041, Productivity – 6529, Creation of digital content – 4173) ;
  • GeekBench 4.4.2 64-bit : Mononuclear: 6601, multi-core: 18782 ;
  • GeekBench 5.0.1 64-bit : Mononuclear: 1500, multi-core: 4702 ;
  • CineBench R15 (best odometer reading) : CPU 804 kb, single core 212 kb ;
  • CineBench R20 (best odometer reading) : Processor 1596 kb, single core processor 534 kb ;
  • x264 HD Benchmark 4.0 32-bit : Pass 1 at 185.92 fps, Pass 2 at 40.63 fps ;
  • x265 HD Benchmark 64-bit: 91.48 s.

We have also carried out a number of workload calculations relating to the workplaces in the performance profile:

  • Blender 2.90 – BMW Car Scene – Calculation Processor: 10m 29s (Car) ;
  • Blender 2.90 – Cool Scene – Processor : 30m 37s (Auto) ;
  • Luxmark 3.1 – Luxball HDR – OpenCL CPU + GPU Evaluation : The CPU is not detected correctly;

These are not great results, and it’s not much less than the i7-1165G7 configuration we’ve tested so far, including the ZenBook UX363. Again, it is not surprising that the system quickly reduces output power to reduce noise and temperature, which affects performance. We see a 10 to 30% drop in scores compared to the ZenBook Flip UX363 and more compared to the more powerful implementations of this Tiger Lake platform.

We have also launched some DX11, DX12 and Vulkan games that focus on the performance profile and low/low image settings. Here’s what we’ve got:

FHD Game Flip S UX371 – Intel 1165G7 13W Flip UX363 – Intel 1165G7 13W Swift 3 13 – Intel 1165G7 17W UX393 – Intel 1165G7 26W UX425 – Intel 1065G7 IdeaPad 7 – AMD R7 + Vega 8 UM425 – Drum R7 + Vega 7
BioShock Infinity (DX 11, low preset) 65 frames per second (32 frames per second – 1% decrease) 65 frames per second (38 frames per second is 1% less) 76 frames per second (45 frames per second is 1% less) 83 frames per second (44 frames per second – 1% decrease) 40 frames per second (22 frames per second – 1% drop) 81 frames per second (58 frames per second – 1% decrease) 66 frames per second (50 frames per second is 1% less)
Dota 2 (DX 11, best preset appearance) 47 frames per second (34 frames per second – 1% drop) 52 frames per second (32 frames per second is 1% less) 71 frames per second (46 frames per second – 1% drop) 63 frames per second (39 frames per second – 1% drop) 34 frames per second (20 frames per second is 1% less) 53 frames per second (40 frames per second is 1% less) 39 frames per second (28 frames per second is 1% less)
Far Cry 5 (DX 11, low preset, no AA) 24 frames per second (14 frames per second, or 1% less) 23 frames per second (14 frames per second is 1% less) 32 frames per second (19 frames per second – 1% drop) 29 frames per second (19 frames per second, or 1% less) 12 frames per second (10 frames per second is 1% less) 28 frames per second (24 frames per second is 1% less) 21 frames per second (17 frames per second is 1% less)
Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor (DX 11, lowest preset value) 60 fps (42 fps – 1% low) 59 frames per second (43 frames per second – 1% drop) 60 fps (43 fps – 1% decrease) 67 frames per second (53 frames per second – 1% decrease) 32 frames per second (22 frames per second is 1% less) 33 frames per second (24 frames per second is 1% less) 45 frames per second (36 frames per second is 1% less)
CBC: Most searched (DX 11, lowest preset) 60 frames per second (46 frames per second – 1% reduction) 56 frames per second (36 frames per second is 1% less) 60 fps (53 fps – 1% low) 60 frames per second (45 frames per second is 1% less) 42 frames per second (25 frames per second, or 1% less) 60 frames per second (46 frames per second – 1% reduction) 56 frames per second (34 frames per second – 1% drop)
Rise of the Tomb Raider (DX 12, lowest preset, no AA) 36 frames per second (14 frames per second – 1% drop) 25 frames per second (11 frames per second, or 1% less) 36 frames per second (5 frames per second is 1% less) 46 frames per second (12 frames per second – 1% drop) 16 frames per second (3 frames per second is 1% less) 41 frames per second (22 frames per second – 1% drop) 28 frames per second (22 frames per second – 1% drop)
Shadow of the Tomb Raider (Volcano, lowest-preset, no AA) 29 frames per second (19 frames per second, or 1% less) 25 frames per second (14 frames per second, or 1% less) 37 frames per second (21 frames per second – 1% drop) 34 frames per second (18 frames per second – 1% drop) 17 frames per second (12 frames per second is 1% less) 38 frames per second (22 frames per second – 1% drop) 27 frames per second (16 frames per second is 1% less)
Alien Brigade (Vulcan, low-level) 44 frames per second (36 frames per second is 1% less) 47 frames per second (41 frames per second – 1% drop) 50 frames per second (40 frames per second is 1% too low) 54 frames per second (45 frames per second or 1% less) 21 frames per second (7 frames per second is 1% less) 41 frames per second (36 frames per second – 1% drop) 37 frames per second (32 frames per second – 1% drop)
  • Witcher 3, Dota 2, NFS – recorded with MSI Afterburner in game mode ;
  • Games BioShock, Far Cry 5, Middle Earth, Strange Brigade, Tomb Raider – recorded with reference utilities enabled.

I have added a few other configurations for comparison, all of which are ultra-portable on similar i7-1165G7 platforms, albeit with different performance. I also added an older model from ZenBook Ice Lake and some alternatives from AMD Ryzen to give a wider comparison.

As expected, the ZenBook Flip S UX371 compensates for the difference with the standard ZenBook Flip under this longer load. It can deliver more than 40 frames per second for older, simpler games, but AAA games have been running at no less than 30 frames per second on this laptop in recent years. Moreover, this ZenBook Flip S UX371 is significantly inferior to the more powerful Tiger Lake models we have tested, and even inferior to the Ryzen 7 with the Vega 7 platform implemented in the ZenBook UX425, a proprietary limited-power implementation.

In short, if you’re looking for more performance in a Tiger Lake laptop, the ZenBook Flip S UX371EA is not for you. On the contrary, it is one of the slowest tiger lakes on the market, but it does a good job of balancing temperatures and noise levels, as shown in the HWInfo logs above and in our next section.

Sound, heat, communication, speakers and other

Asus used a simple thermal module with a heat pipe and a fan, similar to what we know from the current ZenBook and ExpertBook models.

http://server.digimetriq.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/1608153976_51_ASUS-ZenBook-Flip-S-Evo-UX371-review-2020-UX371EA-model.jpg

They also had a closed design, just like the regular ZenBook Flip UX363. Although the grids in panel D suggest otherwise, they are coated on the inside with a thermal adhesive. This means that no air enters from below, but only through a small notch at the back between the hinges, which leads the air through the processor and the heat pipe to the fan, and out to the display.

Now, as I said in my review of the UX363, I do not have enough experience to assess this thermal design, but I can say that it is different from what Asus implements in their clamshell models, which, according to our other tests, can work better with their open-backed thermal designs and similar single-tube thermal modules.

However, the ZenBook Flip S UX371 is also a little quieter than what is needed for this Evo platform badge. It maintains fairly comfortable mid-70 C temperatures during races and high loads, but some of this heat also extends to the exterior chassis. In performance mode, we measured temperatures in the mid-50s in the middle of the keyboard and at the back, around the processor, and in the 40 degrees on the chin of the screen, right next to the exhaust port. In performance mode, the fan runs quietly on average, with a volume of 40-41 dB.

Switching to standard mode allows the fans to run even quieter, but with an additional impact on performance.

On the other hand, this ZenBook Flip is much quieter every day because the fan is usually inactive and only comes on when you’re performing more intense multitasking tasks. I haven’t noticed any electronic noise, and the temperature is good enough for a fanless version.

http://server.digimetriq.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/1608153977_785_ASUS-ZenBook-Flip-S-Evo-UX371-review-2020-UX371EA-model.jpg http://server.digimetriq.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/1608153977_593_ASUS-ZenBook-Flip-S-Evo-UX371-review-2020-UX371EA-model.jpg

*Daily use – Netflix streaming on EDGE for 30 minutes, whisper mode, 0-33 dB fan
*Games – Power mode – play Far Cry 5 for 30 minutes, 40-41 dB fan

For network connections, this notebook is equipped with the latest generation Intel AX201 WiFi 6 module. The setup worked well, and the signal and performance remained strong up to 30 feet with obstacles in between, but not as fast as the other WiFi6 models we tested over the years.

The sound is produced by a set of stereo speakers that pull through grilles on the underside of the front lip. Due to the angular shape of the D-panel, the sound can bounce off the table without any significant distortion, although I have noticed a lot of vibrations in the armrest at high volume. What’s more, these speakers can be easily drowned out by their location when you use your laptop on your lap.

With regard to sound quality, we measured an average maximum volume of 76-78 dB at head height during our tests, with DTS processing enabled in the music profile. The sound quality is about average for this class, excellent for movies and music, but a bit low-end. However, I must warn you once again that the main chassis vibrates considerably at volumes above 70%, so you will probably have to set the volume at a lower level for daily use.

The HD camera at the top of the screen is good for occasional calls, but is not of good quality.

Battery life

The ZenBook Flip S UX371 is equipped with a 67-watt battery, larger than that of a conventional 13-inch ultrabook.

This is what happens to battery life. The screen brightness is set to approximately 120 nits (~50 brightness).

  • 11W (~6+ hours usage) – Google Drive text editing, Standard+ best battery mode, 50% screen, Wi-Fi ON ;
  • 7.8 W (~8+ hours of use) – Full screen 1080p YouTube video in Edge mode, Whisper mode + better battery, 50% screen, Wi-Fi ON ;
  • 6.8W (~10hrs usage) – Netflix full screen mode in Edge mode, Whisper mode + Better battery, 50% screen, Wi-Fi ON ;
  • 14.3 W (~4-6 hours operation) – Side view, standard mode + best power, screen set to 50%, Wi-Fi ON.

Don’t forget that this configuration has a UHD OLED panel to support runtime. With that in mind, ZenBook Flip S will last quite a long time thanks to its powerful battery, and with the optional IPS FHD panel I expect even longer runs for occasional use.

Asus connects your notebook to a compact 65W charger connected via USB-C. It is a one-piece model with a compact brick and a long, thick cable. It takes about two hours to fully charge the battery, but a quick charge can recharge up to 60% of the battery in less than an hour.

http://server.digimetriq.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/1608153977_214_ASUS-ZenBook-Flip-S-Evo-UX371-review-2020-UX371EA-model.jpg

Prices and availability

At the time of writing the ZenBook Flip S Evo UX371EA is only listed in a few parts of the world.

So far I could only find the first-level configuration, with an i7-1165G7 processor, 16 GB RAM, 1 TB of SSD storage and a 4K OLED touchscreen, for a suggested retail price of $1,549 in the US and a huge price of 2,500 euros in Germany and other European countries.

In the United States it is competitive for this money because of its features and OLED display, but in Europe it is in the exclusive price range. By comparison, you can get a standard ZenBook Flip UX363 for much less, starting at $949 in the US and about 1,100 euros in Europe for a basic Core i5 configuration with an IPS display.

We’ll let you know as soon as we know more. In the meantime, please check this link for prices and configurations in your area.

Conclusion

After using the ZenBook Flip S UX371 in recent weeks, I think there are a few important aspects to consider when deciding if this might be the right purchase for you.

Above all, you should ask yourself whether you are comfortable with an OLED laptop, whether you understand its functions, and whether you are willing to use the computer in the way you want to minimize the problems associated with long lead-in times. You will also have to accept curiosities such as PWM flicker and fading black, which are common with OLED panels in general.

That said, you should also be aware that those of you with wider hands may have problems typing on the narrow keyboard that Asus has given this notebook, and that this system is primarily optimized for quiet everyday use and can not match the overall performance of other modern ultraportables, whether it is built on Intel or AMD hardware. In fact, this is one of the slowest Tiger Lake laptops we have tested so far, because the hardware is limited in its performance to maintain the online temperature and noise level.

At the same time, it remains very comfortable for everyday use, where it runs just as quietly and coolly and lasts long enough on any load, but it can’t handle more demanding workloads (such as video editing – which could otherwise benefit from this color-intensive display) or gaming in the same way as other Tiger Lake laptops. So if you need a powerful ultrabook, it’s not for you, but if you want a balanced 2-in-1 ultraportable for everyday use, this could be it.

However, there are a few other little things that bothered me when I used the laptop, like the black materials that are sensitive to dirt or the sharp edges inside, that look great but are not as practical as I would like. Speaking of practice: The small rubber feet underneath the screen are annoying when using the laptop on a desk, and Asus did not give the computer a 3.5 mm plug.

After all, it’s an expensive laptop here in Europe. However, at a price of $1,549 in the United States, it could attract attention, but don’t worry.

In terms of competition, there are still some high-end 2-in-1 models such as the HP Spectra, the Dell XPS 13 2-in-1 or some Lenovo yogas. This ZenBook has a great battery, a great design and an OLED panel on the side that most competitors in this segment don’t offer, but generally they just aren’t enough to put it at the top of my list. What about yours?

This concludes our review of the Asus ZenBook Flip S Evo UX371EA. I would like you to share your thoughts and impressions in the comments, so feel free to contact me.

http://server.digimetriq.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/1608153978_704_ASUS-ZenBook-Flip-S-Evo-UX371-review-2020-UX371EA-model.jpg

Disclaimer : Our content is supported by our readers. If you make a purchase through certain links on our site, we may earn affiliate commissions. Read more.

Andrei Girbea, editor of Ultrabookreview.com. I’ve been involved in mobile computing since the 2000’s, and you’ll find here mainly reviews and detailed tutorials written by me.

kitchen organization rules,organizing kitchen cabinets what goes where,buzzfeed kitchen,buzzfeed storage,practical kitchen organization,kitchen organizing plan,how to organize kitchen staples,pantry organization chart,kitchen storage plans,kitchen organization diagram,kitchen organization guide,kitchen organization strategies,kitchen organization categories,tips for organizing kitchen,kitchen organization map

You May Also Like

How to Fix a Bluetooth Speaker That Won’t Charge

. How to repair a Bluetooth speaker that is not charging –…

15 Best VR Games To Play Right Now 2021

Знаешь, что лучше, чем играть в видеоигры? Он играет в VR игры!…

Best Gaming Chairs to Buy in 2021

Finding the best gaming chair in 2021 isn’t as hard as it…

Top 5 Best Portable WiFi Hotspots to buy in 2021

The new year is here, and it means time to start thinking…